The following thirty-seven Connecticut municipalities conducted real property tax revaluations in 2021:

Andover, Ashford, Beacon Falls, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Colchester, Columbia, Cornwall, East Hartford, East Haven, East Lyme, Easton, Enfield, Greenwich, Griswold, Groton, Hartford, Hebron, Killingworth, Lisbon, Manchester, Meriden, Middlebury, Middlefield, Milford, Montville, New Haven, Plainville, Plymouth, Portland, Salem, Shelton, Thomaston, Vernon, Westbrook, West Hartford, Wolcott, Woodstock.

The revaluation will fix a property owner’s tax assessment for the next five years beginning with the October 1, 2021 grand list, which reflects the real property taxes due on July 1, 2022.

Most property owners should have received a preliminary notice of assessment change from their municipality and had an opportunity to schedule an informal meeting with the revaluation company to ask questions about their valuation and to provide additional data they feel is necessary. This informal meeting is an important opportunity to receive a property tax assessment reduction.

If a property owner believes they are the subject of an unfair and excessive property tax assessment, they should file an appeal with the local Board of Assessment Appeals by February 20th. However, because February 20th is a Sunday, property owners should take care to file an appeal by February 18th or otherwise confirm with the Assessor’s office whether they may submit the appeal on the 21st.

The experienced attorneys at Carmody’s Tax Assessment and Valuation Appeals group are available to discuss your concerns and assist with any real property tax revaluation informal meeting or appeals. Please get in touch with your Carmody contact or one of the following attorneys:

David S. Hardy
203-784-3110
dhardy@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com

Stephen J. Conover
203.252.2668
sconover@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com

Marc J. Kurzman
203-252-2680
mkurzman@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com

Brian T. Henebry
203-575-2601
bhenebry@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com

Gary S. Klein
203-252-2696
gklein@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com

Liam S. Burke
203-252-2689
lburke@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com

Brian W. Lampert
203-784-3158
blampert@carmodylaw.approvalserver.com